Pre-order the vinyl version of the first Scud Mountain Boys record in 17 years! June 24 2013

I'm happy to announce that we'll be releasing the vinyl version of first new Scud Mountain Boys album since Sub Pop released the critically-acclaimed Massachusetts in 1996. It's called Do You Love the Sun and the vinyl will be released on August 6th, 2013.

Pre-order it here.

After being out of contact for many years, original Scud Mountain Boys band members Joe Pernice (vocals, acoustic and electric guitars), Stephen Desaulniers (vocals, acoustic guitar, and bass), and Bruce Tull (electric guitar, lap steel, pedal steel) returned to the scene in late 2011, playing an almost-impromptu reunion in Cambridge, Mass. Soon after, the band had announced more shows and reissued The Early Year, a compilation of their first two albums Pine Box and Dance the Night Away. Do You Love the Sun fulfills the promise of a full-fledged recorded comeback. Their latest offering features Joe Pernice's inimitable marriage of exquisitely graceful vocals and a resigned tone that the NME (in a 9 out of 10 Massachusetts review) once described as " the golden voice of damaged, regret oozing from every word like wounded honey… rendering glorious the utter inevitability of failure.” Though the band was initially lumped in with the alt-country scene helmed by Son Volt, Wilco, and the hordes of other disciples of Hank Williams, the Scud Mountain Boys have always taken their inspiration as much from hooky ’70s AM pop as from the dirty country road of Johnny Cash.

For the legions of Scud Mountain Boys that have been holding out hope for a follow-up offering to the brilliant Massachusetts, Do You Love the Sun is a welcome ten track return from a band that has been away for too long.

Track list:

1. Do You Love The Sun
2. Double Bed
3. Crown of Thorns
4. Learn To Love Him
5. The Mendicant
6. Orphan Girl
7. She Falls Apart
8. Theme From Midnight Cowboy
9. Drew Got Shot
10. You're Mine